Jump to content


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.


Google Attack?

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 joebsts


  • Members
  • 14 posts
  • Local time:03:17 AM

Posted 25 November 2013 - 01:02 AM

i was doing a search for 'paint.net' on google and underneath the website name google warned me 'this site may be hacked', so I didn't click the link. I did another google search immediately after (for something unrelated) and an AVG 'Threat Removed' message popped up. It said something about "Blackhat SEO" being blocked/removed (Sorry, I kind of freaked out and closed it right away...).
Just to be sure, I did a malwarebytes quick scan, which came up as empty. Hopefully there's nothing wrong, but how exactly could this have happened?
It's a pretty old computer, uses Vista and Google chrome if that matters.

Edited by Blade, 25 November 2013 - 02:02 AM.
Moved from Web Browsing/Email and Other Internet Applications to Am I Infected.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)


#2 jhayz


  • BC Advisor
  • 6,922 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Local time:06:17 PM

Posted 25 November 2013 - 08:19 AM

warned me 'this site may be hacked', so I didn't click the link.


If you click the blue message link, you will be redirected to here https://support.google.com/websearch/answer/190597?p=ws_hacked&rd=1


#3 therealtabby


  • Members
  • 85 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Central Canada
  • Local time:04:17 AM

Posted 10 March 2014 - 04:19 PM

I have been hit with the same Blackhat SEO problem on my two websites.  A little experimentation has revealed that AVG seems to be the only scanner that finds it.  My hosting company essentially has been ZERO help (even though I pay for back ups) - since I'm such a schmuch with programming, I'm rather lost when it comes to certain things.  My hosting firm recommended a "site security" firm and a quick conversation revealed they wanted over $700 to "scrub" my sites. 


This all started with a google search and the little blue line that reads "this site may be hacked".  Any thoughts or input would be GREATLY appreciated. 

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users