Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Can Viruses Fight Back?

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 aelfgifa

aelfgifa

• Members
  • 101 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:41 PM

Posted 02 May 2006 - 02:27 AM

Hello,

I hope this is the right forum. Before I post all the details, I'd like to make sure I'm in the right place because I'm a total novice.

My computer has gotten to the point where when it freezes, the only way I can get back control is to turn it off at the power strip or to pull my DSL cable out of the box and reboot. I've tried to download some freeware and rarely get through a download without my machine freezing up. AVG finds a new version of SdBot almost daily, SpyBot S&D tells me I'm OK, but I was reading today that some "malware" can stop you from being able to download anything to fix it.

Something I did (sorry, I need to keep a handwritten log from here out) made me get several e-mail bounces that showed that somebody was using my email address to send spam. I've called my ISP, Googled on almost everything I can find, and things keep getting worse. I use Mozilla Firefox for a browser, Thunderbird for e-mail, AVG free and SpyBot.

It's like my machine is infected with something that is fighting back - and winning.