Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Permissions Problems

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 JRDPHD

JRDPHD

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:40 PM

Posted 11 November 2013 - 10:41 AM

Mod Edit:  Split from http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/t/452999/change-ownershipfile-reappearvac/ - Hamluis.

Hello,

This is my first time to post with Bleeping, so I'm disappointed that there are no other posts in response to the topic 

Change Ownership/File Reappear/VAC, because I have exactly the same problem.

I can't completely uninstall AVAST in order to install Bitdefender because I can't get permission from trustedinstaller to delete about 10-15 residual files.

Would much appreciate any suggestions.

Edited by hamluis, 11 November 2013 - 11:23 AM.
PM sent new OP - Hamluis.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 dc3

dc3

Bleeping Treehugger

• Members
  • 30,757 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:40 PM

Posted 11 November 2013 - 11:04 AM

Avast has a uninstall utility, but in order to use it you will need to reinstall Avast in order to use it.

There are times that a topic will simply get buried if there are a large number of responses in active topics.  It is unfortunate, but it does happen.