Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Dell XPS 410 upgrade? New build?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 chaostoday

chaostoday

• Members
  • 107 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:18 PM

Posted 07 November 2013 - 11:27 PM

Good day to all experts. I am a novice at best and have done some hardware work and assisted new builds but now have questions and a budget for this project. I need to get more performance out of my only desktop. I have two laptops that are better performers but need this desktop to do browsing, photo editing and business software. I run adobe CS4 master suite, do shipping, printing, video editing and run quickbooks from this pc.

Dell DXP061
Pentium D 2.8ghz
1022 MB Ram
Nvidia GeForce 7300 LE
I have two good optical drives and 2- 250gb HDD's

I know the power supply is low quality and must be replaced.
Don't know how to tell if I have a P965 motherboard or not. How do I tell?
I know I need more more RAM. Thought I had more. Think I made a mistake with the pairs.
If I have the P965 can I go quad core QX6800?
I'm not real comfortable with processor upgrades but have others to assist and hope to have some of you to watch my back.
Video card. I have no clue. Need your help.