I have an issue where the user will log into their normal profile, but then the computer says, "Preparing your profile..." and when it finished and they are logged in, it's like their profile has been reset. We restart the system and log-in again and it's back to their normal profile. After another restart when they log-in their profile has be reset again. There is no error generated, and nothing other than the "Preparing your profile..." message to set it apart from a normal log-in, other than everything seems to be gone when the log-in is completed.
This has happened with two different Windows 7 machines and an XP machine.
Does anyone know a reason why this would happen? We are speculating it could be malware related. We have not ran any scans yet, but we are set to investigate this deeper this afternoon. We haven't had a chance to look at the logs, either.