Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Death by surge!!

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 motusman

motusman

• Members
  • 13 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:21 PM

Posted 08 October 2013 - 06:28 AM

Hiya folks, a brief history of my problem...

I am a semi-pro photographer operating an on-site printing service, using a 2.6Kw generator running through a garage type consumer unit.

A few weeks ago I started the genny and by the time I had opened up the back of my van (under 10 seconds) smoke  was filling my PC Tower. I immediately flipped the switch on the consumer unit. Apparently, when the PSU shorted it caused a surge, and even though none of the devices were switched on they were all plugged in so were technically live. I did not have a surge protector fitted and the generator is not one of those fancy sine wave jobs.

The pc power supply had shorted out and was dripping liquid from underneath where the fan was. The resulting damage is very surprising. Both my monitor and printer stopped working, (the internal fuses had blown) but the biggest headache is the computer!!

I fitted a replacement PSU and initially forgot to fit one of the power leads to the boar - PCI-E,, the CPU fan worked, but nothing else did. I then fitted the said correct lead and............................. nothing!!!!!!!!