Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

SweetPack virus ... and maybe more?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 bkaczmarek

bkaczmarek

• Members
  • 28 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:32 PM

Posted 02 October 2013 - 12:10 PM

Hi, I'm a newbie. But hoping someone can help.

Last week I seem to have gotten SweetPacks virus. (See below for all the details.)  And I googled it and found a link online to remove it http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/virus-removal/remove-sweetpacks-toolbar   

But is this link the right instructions for me, given that my files seem to be disappearing as well?...ie maybe I am infected with something else additionally?  

I say 'disappearing' because AVG scans usually shows 'number of objects scanned' at about 1,200,000.  Since this virus incident last week (see details below...), AVG reported it scanned only 120,000 objects.  And today it scanned only 103,000 objects.

BACKGROUND:

I've been very good about using AVG Free anti-virus and weekly scans have never found any suspicious files. 

Last week I was prompted to upgrade to AVG 2014 Free.  It didn't seem to take - showing 'protection not active' - and I contacted AVG who sent instructions for removal of old version and how to do a clean install.

But upon reboot, AVG 2014 showed that components were active.  (So I ignored the removal/reinstall). Thought I was good.