Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Sparking from motherboard (near 24-pin ATX)

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 m0arpheus

m0arpheus

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:46 AM

Posted 24 September 2013 - 10:10 PM

Hi everybody, long time reader, first time poster. Could you guys/gals help me out on this problem? Let's get to it:

I'm a tech at a computer repair shop and am working on a kid's gaming PC build that sparks when RAM is in and displays the red CPU LED consistently with RAM in or out and does not run video out (though components seem to be functioning - fans running, PSU supplying power, HDD powering on, etc.). Here are the specs:

Asus m5a99x mobo
AMD FX CPU (can't remember just this moment what model, I know it is compatible with the mobo)
4x2gb Corsair vengeance DDR3 1600mhz RAM
Antec 500w PSU
MSI PCIe GPU

What I've done so far (in order, just my process, please feel free to let me know if I've done something horribly wrong here):

1. Put the mobo in the case(IBM server case)
2. Put 1 RAM module in the slot closest to the CPU
3. Got all the standoffs in (not brass, just black-looking ones that came with the case apparently) and checked for damage to board or stray bits lying around
4. put in the CPU, cleaned and reapplied thermal paste and cooler (kuhler 620 water cooler)