Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer switches on and off during boot

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Geordie hustler

Geordie hustler

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  

Posted 24 September 2013 - 06:11 PM

Hi

First of all I'd like to mention that I am not very technically minded. I'm ok getting around a PC but in not advanced on computer jargin etc. so I hope you'll go easy on me.

Anyway, the problem in having is this.

On starting up my PC the computer fans start and LEDs are on as if normal but only for a few seconds. I notice though there is no signal going to my monitor ( so monitor turns itself off after a few seconds). Also my computer then turns off (for 3 or 4 seconds) then back on again for 3 or 4 seconds, then off again repeatedly. On off on off on off. The monitor doesn't get any signal.

It dies this 90% of the time but a couple of times the LEDs and fans stayed on as if everything was normal but still no signal to screen. To check whether it was the monitor I tried the computer with my television and again no signal. Therefore I know the monitor is fine.

Anyone know what this could be? I haven't tried another VGA cable as I don't have one, but it Is a relatively new cable and I don't believe it's the cable as I don't think this would cause the PC to repeatedly turn on and off during boot.