Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Spyfalcon...a New Version Perhaps

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Appel

Appel

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:57 PM

Posted 26 April 2006 - 05:41 PM

OK I'm no pro, but I ain't (too) dumb neither. The reason I say no too dumb is that I got a spyfalcon yesterday morning while looking for a free game code. it acted quite a lot like spyquake, with the annoying little popup and redirecting my homepage.

Anyway I tried all the good scanners and such listed on the 'preparation guide' page.

first thing is man, I thought I kept my PC fairly clean but there was some major crap on my PC.

Anyway the real nasty one was the SpyFalcon...I tried many methods including the one involving the SmitRem file but no luck.

Finally BitDefender caught the files and was able to delete some of them, all were contained in the system32 folder (winXP), here's the part of the log:
:\WINDOWS\system32\dcomcfg.exe

Infected with: Trojan.Downloader.Zlob.MJ

C:\WINDOWS\system32\dcomcfg.exe

Disinfection failed

C:\WINDOWS\system32\dcomcfg.exe

Delete failed

C:\WINDOWS\system32\hp5A74.tmp

C:\WINDOWS\system32\hp5A74.tmp

Deleted

C:\WINDOWS\system32\hp6D40.tmp

Disinfection failed

Delete failed

C:\WINDOWS\system32\regperf.exe

Infected with: BehavesLike:Win32.ExplorerHijack

Disinfection failed

Deleted