Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

[Server 2008] Remote Access to Shared Network Drives

• Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 b4dh3r0

b4dh3r0

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:33 PM

Posted 16 September 2013 - 09:24 PM

Hi,

I'm a systems admin at a moderately sized call-center. We need to be able to access files hosted on our office server from our warehouse. I don't have much server experience, so I am curious how is best to go about doing this. The server is located behind a Sonicwall router. Now, the files we are accessing are just database files, no streaming video or anything like that. That said, in my research, I have found that going the route of the VPN is the obvious choice. With that in mind, how do I setup the VPN? Do I have to set it up through the router and the windows server management? I don't want to use any extra software (logemein, etc.) because I know the router has VPN capabilities and it will likely only be a handful of external clients. Suggestions?

Mod Edit: Moved topic from the 7 forum to the more appropriate forum. ~bloopie

Edited by bloopie, 16 September 2013 - 09:42 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 TsVk!

TsVk!

penguin farmer

• Members
  • 6,233 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:33 AM

Posted 16 September 2013 - 09:36 PM