Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Storage on a home wireless network - hard drive question

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 janick

janick

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:49 AM

Posted 15 September 2013 - 09:55 PM

This may be a silly question (I'm new to this). I have a home wireless network with 4 computers on it. I wanted to get a storage unit that I could plug into the router and be accessed for storage (back up of select files) by all of the computers. I purchased a Buffalo Drivestation Axis hard drive unit thinking I would just plug it into the router via USB and it would act as such. Somewhere I thought I had read this was possible. However, it is not being recognized by the network and I'm now wondering if I bought the wrong thing (and perhaps should have purchased a NAS type of storage unit such as the Buffalo Linkstation?). Can anyone help on this? I emailed Buffalo support a couple of times but I'm not hearing back and I'd like to return the Drivestation soon if I need to do so. Thanks!!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 smax013

smax013

• BC Advisor
  • 2,329 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:49 AM

Posted 16 September 2013 - 09:23 AM