Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Nonplussed

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 SwordofDamocles

SwordofDamocles

• Members
  • 9 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:16 AM

Posted 14 September 2013 - 11:46 PM

Hello everyone,

I am a newbie to Windows 7 after being a user of Windows XP for many years.

XP is a very good program but when I bought my new desktop, I thought that I may as well upgrade to Win 7.

But from the start, I noticed that many of my previous apps for XP, especially the third party type, just cannot work with Win 7.

In fact, it's going to be one long learning curve!

For a start, two apps which are very useful and work fine with XP, i.e. Blowfish CS encryption app and Alfaclock, a system tray clock, are unusable with Win 7.

Both these programs are very good in their class.

The system tray clock in Win 7 is nothing compared to the Alfaclock which I have been using for years!!!

Perhaps someone may know of the existence of newer versions of these apps which can be used for Win 7.

Or as an alternative, improvise on them to make them usable with Win 7.

Thank you.

Regards,

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 noknojon

noknojon

• Banned
  • 10,871 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:16 AM

Posted 15 September 2013 - 12:47 AM

Windows 7 has a feature called Program Compatibility which can run some older software.