Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I can't connect to wireless network - please help

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Passion4Muzik

Passion4Muzik

• Members
  • 152 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:21 PM

Posted 13 September 2013 - 03:47 PM

I am using an IBM Thinkpad R50e 1842 with Windows XP Home edition.  I have never used wifi before. I'm trying to connect to the wireless network and it asked for a network key which I got from homeowner and pressed "connect".  A message will say "acquiring network address" but after a few moments nothing happens and I'm not  connected.  What could be the problem?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 bory504

bory504

• Members
  • 224 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:21 PM

Posted 13 September 2013 - 04:18 PM

Are you using Windows or IBM software to connect?

Sincerely, Blake.

7 year Computer Hardware + Software Technician.

Operations Technician at a retail company.

Rhythm guitarist for the band Headspill.

:guitar: 

#3 Passion4Muzik

Passion4Muzik
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 152 posts
  •  

Posted 13 September 2013 - 05:31 PM

I'm not sure I understand the question.  The Thinkpad is made by IBM.  The operating system is Windows XP.

#4 smax013

smax013

• BC Advisor
  • 2,329 posts
  •  

Posted 13 September 2013 - 05:34 PM