Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Belkin N150 wifi router drops connection frequenty

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 biren

biren

• Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:11 PM

Posted 12 September 2013 - 07:26 PM

dear friend(s),

i am a complete amateur, and so i don't even know if i am giving you enough information. please let me know if any information is required.

i have been using an internet service which uses - as they call it - a wireless mesh networking. though, from their device (modem?), i get the signal through a cable.

recently i bought a belkin N150 wifi router for ease of use of internet on my laptop. 

a friend who is savvy in these matters set up the router, and i have been able to use it.

but there is one constant problem.

the pages load slowly sometimes. things would be working fine, and then suddenly pages would take time to load.

so i checked the ping times (using command prompt - ping -t 10.10.0.1).

the usual ping times i get - when i used to connect thru cable were in the range of 5 to 12ms.

when i checked this with wi-fi connection, the ping times vary, and go as much as 4000+ms. they would be normal for a while, and then suddenly a string of large ping times would appear.

this would happen even if i was sitting next to the router with my laptop.