Jump to content


 


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.


Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

What did this link do


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 rincomike

rincomike

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:06:05 AM

Posted 12 September 2013 - 04:06 PM

One of my kids clicked on this link.  Then entered a email and password for an "other account".  then hit ok.

 

I quickly changed the password but wondering if it stole anything else.  I scanned the computer with microsoft security essentials, malwarebytes, trend micro house call, and bit defender and all said the system is clean.

 

the email said:

 

The documents have been uploaded using Google Docs. Kindly CLICK HERE to sign in with your email for immediate access to view the document

 

Here is the link that was under CLICK HERE

 

tinyurl.com/o998ebd

 

 

any help is appreciated.

 

thanks


Edited by rincomike, 12 September 2013 - 04:10 PM.


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

 


#2 Elise

Elise

    Bleepin' Blonde


  • Malware Study Hall Admin
  • 60,926 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Romania
  • Local time:01:05 PM

Posted 12 September 2013 - 04:18 PM

Hello and welcome to BleepingComputer. :)

 

This is indeed a phishing link, changing your password immediately is the best you can do. It is also a good idea to explain everyone who uses the computer that they should never click on links in mails from unkwown senders. If the link leads to an exploit or malicious download, you can infect your computer without knowing it.


regards, Elise


"Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen."

 

Follow BleepingComputer on: Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | lockerdome

 

Malware analyst @ Emsisoft


#3 rincomike

rincomike
  • Topic Starter

  • Members
  • 2 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Local time:06:05 AM

Posted 12 September 2013 - 04:57 PM

thank you.  if all the virus scanning tools show the system is clean, is it safe to assume there was no infoection and the only password it might have stole was the one entered in the dialog box?  When they clicked other email, a dialog box opened and then the password was entered.  Then the page went to some google docs and some document was there.  I am not sure if they then logged into google or not.  we changed that pw too.



#4 Elise

Elise

    Bleepin' Blonde


  • Malware Study Hall Admin
  • 60,926 posts
  • OFFLINE
  •  
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Romania
  • Local time:01:05 PM

Posted 13 September 2013 - 02:22 AM

Yes, it is likely only the password was compromised. Additionally such sites may collect email addresses for spam campaigns, so if you don't use a spam filter you may see an increase in undesired mail.


regards, Elise


"Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen."

 

Follow BleepingComputer on: Facebook | Twitter | Google+ | lockerdome

 

Malware analyst @ Emsisoft





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users