Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Help W/ Building An Amd Desktop

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 AnaMayShun

AnaMayShun

• Members
  • 7 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:14 AM

Posted 25 April 2006 - 11:14 AM

I have never built a computer before. I own a Gateway Desktop and a Dell Laptop. I want to upgrade my desktop. But I want to try and build one. And I want to make sure it'll last for a long time. So i'm looking for some help in doing so.

I'm looking at:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ For $460.00

XFX Geforce 7600GT For $172.99

ABIT AN8 SLI ATX AMD Motherboard For $108.99

CORSAIR XMS 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR For $188.00

Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Case For $108.99

Western Digital Caviar SE16 320GB For $130.00

Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Platinum Sound Card For $159.99

LITE-ON 16X DVD±R DVD Burner For $45.99

Logitech Internet Pro Desktop Black Wired Keyboard For $17.99

I'm probably not going to get that high of products, because the total is at $1392.94. My price range is between $1000 and $1500. And I know I need a monitor. So I'm going to have to downgrade on some items without losing to much quality. What else i'm going to need? Maybe a plain CD Rom/CD-R?

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Mofficer

Mofficer

• Members
  • 10 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:14 PM

Posted 25 April 2006 - 12:04 PM