Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Programming Language for Game Development

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Soumikbhat

Soumikbhat

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:38 AM

Posted 01 September 2013 - 01:17 AM

Hello all, I'm thinking of starting on Game development. The fact is I am a beginner in programming, and am on to learning C/C++ extensively. I would like to learn Animation in the future for this project. But I require some very basic information on some aspects of Game Development, like, what are the programming languages that are used etc. I know Animation plays a huge part in these things, but specifically, what languages are exactly used in programming the games like, Age of Empires, EA Sports Games etc. ? 
Any useful tips for absolute beginners in game-development would be appreciated. 
Thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Romeo29

Romeo29

Learning To Bleep

• Members
  • 3,194 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:38 PM

Posted 01 September 2013 - 02:35 AM

Most popular language in game development is C++. But .NET based languages are also getting popular specially on Windows. It further depends on gaming platforms you are targeting. For example, web based flash games are designed using ActionScript. On Android, you must have Java knowledge. On iOS you should know ObjectiveC.