Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Computer detects 5GB ram but only 997MB usable?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Regdrags

Regdrags

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:27 AM

Posted 19 August 2013 - 06:02 PM

Hey guys - a newbie here with a bit of a problem.

To start off simple, I brought a computer off from Tiger Direct, refurnished and what not. Only problem is that it only has 2 GB of ram. I use Photoshop, Fruity Loops studio, the works so I brought two 2GB ram sticks for it.

Now for the details:

My computer is a:

HP 5800 Small Form Factor desktop. (Zomg, these were in highschool) :busy:
 Motherboard: HP2820h
Chip: Intel Q33 (Core 2 Duo)

Last Bios update: 08/27/2008 
^
(It may be the reason here but I will like to hear other suggestions, as installing or installing a bios update incorrectly = goodbye computer. :smash:
)
Windows 7 64-bit (Legit) Home premium

Attached File  Untitled.png   344.36KB   6 downloads

In regards to memory (and it is a bit old, but since my other super machine crapped out on me and was on a bit of a budget, I had to get something that wouldn't burn my wallet.)

DDR2 DIMM (unbuffed) Dual channeling is enabled. 64bit, 667 Mhz, the works. The ram sticks that came with the computer orginally are all different brands...