Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

How can I do to get these files back?

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 234Ernestine

234Ernestine

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:35 PM

Posted 15 August 2013 - 10:14 PM

This is my first time to post a question here. This problem is driving me nuts! Please, help me!

I have a WD external hard drive that is working well all the time. But, yesterdays, my little brother accidentally dropped it from the 2 feet high desk. And then, it probably stopped working. Every time I inserted to my computer, it could not be displayed in “My Computer”. So, the inner contained files also became inaccessible. But, some of them are really important for me. I don’t want to lose them. Please, tell me how I can get these files back. 

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 dpunisher

dpunisher

• BC Advisor
  • 2,234 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:35 AM

Posted 15 August 2013 - 10:25 PM

What is the exact model of the external drive?  For some reason I think I remember reading that a few WD externals use a proprietary HD connector internally to the housing.