Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Trojans disabling MS Security Essentials

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 cayz

cayz

• Members
  • 4 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:26 PM

Posted 10 August 2013 - 01:22 PM

Hello!

My name is James, and I am a network tech guy, but I've been out of the A/V loop for a while.

My father in law has an HP desktop with Windows 7 Home Premium SP1, and he used to have Norton AV and MS Security Essentials on it.  Up to last weekend.

I had installed the MS Security Essentials on it when he had gotten the computer last fall, and had disabled, but not uninstalled Norton.  He was not able to keep the Norton up to date, so I had installed the MSE, and had it scheduled to update & run, and all had been good up to the last week of July.