Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Hi I need help and advice. Upgrading or Getting a new Machine

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 amcpanaligan

amcpanaligan

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:45 AM

Posted 10 August 2013 - 08:17 AM

Hi, I'm new to the forum, I'm an IT student and I'm here to hear your opinions  because my machine it is not anymore giving me satisfaction on what I do with it. The last upgrade was around 2009 or 2010 I can't totally remember the exact year but not later 2010.

Specs:

Motherboard: ASUS P5KPL-AM SE - an LGA socket 775 motherboard with PCI-E DDR2 memory slots and has max of 4GB total memory.

CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400, clocked @2.66GHz

Memory: 2GB in total. 2 x 1GB, 800MHz

Video Expansion: NVIDIA GeForce 9400 GT 512MB DDR2

Storage: 300GB HD SATA

Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate x86 SP1 (Just listing, I'll upgrade it to x64 Windows 8/7 to avoid x86's 4GB max restriction)

I/O: Samsung 19", A4 Input devices and an Epson Ink Jet Printer (Just listing, Doesnt even needed to be upgraded)

There now, I think I have listed all notable specs of a computer.