Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

explorer.exe error... and it gets worse

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 P3nnyw1se

P3nnyw1se

• Members
  • 23 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:58 AM

Posted 05 August 2013 - 05:53 AM

Hey guys I work as a student IT supporter at a big union.

Today one of the employees called me to a problem with his computer.

Specs,
Lenovo T500
32bit, Windows Vista, Office 2007,
Internet Explorer and Google Chrome

registered in our AD.

Issue:

Whenever I try to use the explorer, be it controlpanel, Computer or so on.
explorer crashes with the error: Appcrash.exe

Issue no.2
It has bitlocker on, and the code is lost, which means that I can't access 'safe mode' and as a result, try and fix this.

What have I tried?

msconfig, and deactivated programs that start during boot, every single one.

SFC /Scannow
I tried opening job list, and closed down everything than the most essential windows processes.
I installed CCleaner 'through CMD' and ran the registry clean, it found a few minor things but nothing that solved the issue

What I suspect:
seems to me like its an installed program/plugin, probably for one of the browsers thats causing this

or caused some form of registry error..
lately I've seen a few virusses on 'his floor' but none that had me locked out like this