Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Very slow boot/shutdown, fresh install, operation OK

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 sombra84

sombra84

• Members
  • 5 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:13 PM

Posted 29 July 2013 - 11:49 PM

Hello Everyone,

I am an intermediate computer tech. I have been racking my brain over a friends computer which I can't seem to fix.

The device is a Gateway laptop.  Initially it was having the following symptoms:

1. Slow boot, hangs at windows logo for 5-10 minutes sometimes.

2. Slow shutdown, 5-10 minutes

**On a fresh install, windows installed almost at full speed.

My diagnosis initial was:

1. Hard Drive issue

2. RAM Issue

3. Driver Issue

So far I have done the following:

1. Swapped with known good RAM, no help, also ran memcheck and left it for 12 hours, no issues reported.

2. Placed the HD in my desktop and booted it, Windows booted in under a minute.  I place it back in the laptop - takes forever.

3. Reset all BIOS settings to factory, the disk mode cannot be changed in BIOS.

At this point I have no idea what to think, I also ran chkdsk /r and it finds no errors.  I also performed a low level format and reformatted and partitioned everything with a fresh install of Windows 7.

Does anybody have any ideas or tips? 

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 jhayz

jhayz

• BC Advisor
  • 6,922 posts
  •