Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

After Power Failure Computer Will Not Start

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 you

you

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:43 PM

Posted 20 April 2006 - 08:08 AM

Dear forum. This is my first time visiting. I have read other posts and you all seem very helpful and I have learned more than I thought by redaing for a half hour. Now for my problem:

I own a desktop, a Fujitsu (hard drive and monitor are connected). The electric company came by one day and told us that our block would have no power for one hour. My computer was off during this time but plugged in. That night we turned on our computer and our computer name appeared on the monitor (fujitsu) as it usualy does, and the fans began. However, "Windows XP" never appeared and my computer shut down. Now this happens all the time. I am stuck.

I called Fujitsu and I explained and they said it would cost me about 600 to 700 dollars to fix. Funny they gave me that estimate and never looked at anything. Simply, I do not trust them. This is why I turn to your community for help. Is my computer finished? Is it my PSU that is gone? If my PC is toast is there a way I can get info off of it. I never backed anything up because I just got it.

Thank You for Doing This On Your FREE TIME,
You

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 HitSquad

HitSquad