Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Is it possible for my paranoid thoughts to be a real concern?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 bigbrown411

bigbrown411

• Members
  • 77 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:38 AM

Posted 22 July 2013 - 12:50 PM

I have a 2 year subscription to Webroot SecureAnywhere. I don't know how this happened. I was just watching a video on Youtube and then this thought popped in my head. I know, it doesn't make sense, but when I get a thought like this, I become VERY paranoid about it. So I would like some real answers, not troll answers. Is it possible for your anti-virus (free and paid) to create an error in anyway when backing up files on an external hard drive? Even if the data transfer is completed and all appears to be OK, is it possible when I try to transfer the files from 1 laptop that has Webroot SecureAnywhere installed on it to another laptop that doesn't have Webroot SecureAnywhere installed on it, the laptop that doesn't have Webroot SecureAnywhere installed on it won't recognize the external hard drive or something and my files will be lost? Again, I know this makes ZERO sense, but I'm kind of a paranoid person. I'd rather ask this ridiculous question and get answers from people who have experience in the world on computers vs being paranoid about this.