Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Is web site development a dead market?

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Ubernoober13

Ubernoober13

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:01 PM

Posted 22 July 2013 - 11:03 AM

I am currently a rising senior student in high school and thinking about double majoring in Comp Sci & Computer Engineering in college. I was thinking about learning the ins and outs of web development before I went off to college and maybe be able to make a little extra cash freelancing during college making websites. When I talk to people who work with computer for a living but not necessarily web development, they all tell me that everyone just finds templates that they like and then just tweek those to the way they want it. Is that how it works in web development or do they not really know what they are talking about?I understand "don't reinvent the wheel" and try to find things you like in online tutorials/plugins and use those.

Is there still a profit to be made for web developers from a freelancers point of view or has everyone just moved on to using a template and being happy at that? Is this my best option for making some side cash during college or are there better things for me to learn code wise( I know a job is the best option)

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 groovicus

groovicus

• Security Colleague