Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Good Anti-Virus, Malware, & Spyware programs?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Wingedliond

Wingedliond

• Members
  • 38 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:24 PM

Posted 21 July 2013 - 08:10 AM

Hi Guys, I just got a new laptop and had a simple question. I am new to windows 8 and want to know if anyone has any good good Anti-Virus, Malware, & Spyware programs for windows 8 that are easy to use for novice/intermediate user (mostly novice on window 8)? Laptop came preloaded with Norton Internet Security but I was wondering if there was anything better for window 8?

Edit: Moved topic from Windows 8 to the more appropriate forum. ~ Animal

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 dc3

dc3

Bleeping Treehugger

• Members
  • 30,757 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:24 PM

Posted 21 July 2013 - 08:22 AM

Malwarebytes

SuperAntiSpyware

There are a number of free antivirus programs, I like Avast, others like AVG, and there's Microsoft Security Essentials.

I would suggest staying away from registry cleaners and other enhancement programs, they are overrated for what they actually will do and can actually be damaging when used improperly.  The usual tools like Disk Defragmenter, Disk Cleanup used on a regular basis will help keep the system running smooth.