Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Newbie Programmer

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 SmokeViper07

SmokeViper07

• Members
  • 162 posts
  •  
  • Local time:08:20 PM

Posted 14 July 2013 - 06:11 PM

Hey guys, I'm a student studying Computer Network Security and taking my first intro to programming class next semester. My goal is to become a pen-tester/ethical hack to help government companys and companies like Google secure from hackers. I have been playing around with Codeacademy.com and did a few lessons on python but I would like more advice. I know to get close to my goal I would need to learn some languages like C/C++, python, perl, possibly ruby, SQL, and possibly others. Codeacademy has python, HTML/CSS, javascript, and I think ruby too but I can't seem to find good tutorials or codeacademy like programs for learning C/C++, perl, and others. I like the way Codeacademy works but I feel like I may not remember all of the commands while progressing. Also, I have looked into books for the languages but am unsure about software to use for coding, do I use notepad like in HTML and save it as an .exe or something to test? I have seen Visual Studio for javascript but I'm not sure. Lastly, do you find it more efficent to recieve formal education to learn to code or through tutorials and books? Testing with python on codeacademy has mad