Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Newbie programmer with an idea

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Ubernoober13

Ubernoober13

• Members
  • 18 posts
  •  
  • Local time:04:45 PM

Posted 11 July 2013 - 10:35 PM

Hello everyone I am a fairly new programmer only learning Java from my AP Computer Science class this year and find it very useless besides the general theroy. I have decided to start learning JavaScript. I am not here to ask what the best tutorials are because I have found some that I like and going to go through all the tutorials. But you don't need my life story so lets stay on topic.

My idea is this. I play this web based real time strategy game called Travian. My buddies and I like to make time attacks that land at the same time to cause panic for the enemy. The problem is, we launch from different location and have different launch times. Sometimes some people can't make their time. I want to design a program that does the following as an addon for firefox.

• Asks for the land time they want
  • Inputs the troops for the attacks
  • Looks at travel time
  • Find server clock and keep it up to date(located on the top of every page in the game)
  • Compares land time to servers clock
  • Launches at appropriate time to land
  • Able to send multiple waves to land in the same second