Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Inept College Student Needing Advice

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Kathryn

Kathryn

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:16 PM

Posted 17 April 2006 - 08:43 PM

Hello everyone. I am currently a college student in need of a new computer. The only problem is that I have no idea what to look for in a good computer. I need all the programs for processing (word, excel, powerpoint, etc), but would also like a CD burner and DVD burner. I am looking to spend no more than 1500. If anyone could give me any suggestions for good brands or even examples of computers (preferably laptops) that would be acceptable, I would greatly appreciate any advice. Thank you so much, Kat!

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 acklan

acklan

Bleepin' cat's meow

• Members
  • 8,529 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:16 PM

Posted 17 April 2006 - 09:49 PM

I have had very good luck with Dell. You can buy one niffty computer with $1500. Spending that kind of money be sure and get atleast 1 gb of RAM.
The pruiest will say build your own. That is a go route too, if you have the time.
You should look into Open Office 2.0 instead of MS office.
"2007 & 2008 Windows Shell/User Award"

#3 boopme

boopme

To Insanity and Beyond

• Global Moderator
  • 73,493 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:16 PM

Posted 17 April 2006 - 10:07 PM