Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Bad video problems

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Phxpcman

Phxpcman

• Members
  • 96 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:18 AM

Posted 30 June 2013 - 12:23 PM

Greetings, most helpful and attentive BC community...

I am new in the world of IT/PC repair.

I just got a $10 computer from a yard sale to tinker with.

It is a Compaq Presario SR1620NX tower.

It powers on, and has the XP home edition OS. But for some reason, the display is very fuzzy in some areas of the screen and clear in others. There is a constant scratching noise from the HDD, and something like "white noise" that matches the HDD sound on the screen, in the form of little horizontal white lines.

My monitor is fine. That's not the problem.

The problem is in the computer, and I have no clue what it could be.

I have run diagnostics on the HDD and Memory, and both passed.

Any ideas?

Edited by Phxpcman, 30 June 2013 - 12:24 PM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 hamluis

hamluis

• 56,113 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:18 AM

Posted 03 July 2013 - 07:33 AM

Well...first of all, the computer was available for $10 for a reason.  That has to be recognized.