Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

My Stats

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 William Welbon

William Welbon

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:11 AM

Posted 24 June 2013 - 06:55 AM

I have worked with computers, off and on, for over 38 years.  When I graduated from college in 1976, I had tried to fashion my own MIS degree, which, of course, didn't exist then.  My first real experience with a "computer" was carrying punch cards to a window to have someone run my program on an IBM 34.  I had met a graduate student who told me how to modify the jcl (job control language) to make my programs turn around faster.  Next was a programmable calculator, the Victor 4900, and a word processing machine, the Burroughs Redactron, both of which were being sold by the office machine company I worked for.