Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Restoring Windows 8 backup on Windows 7

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 kRaYzRaY

kRaYzRaY

• Members
  • 1 posts
  •  
  • Local time:07:45 AM

Posted 12 June 2013 - 01:13 PM

Hello everyone! I'm a newbie poster here but have utilized the great pool of knowledge that is bleepingcomputer.com for many years. I'm in a bit of a pickle and need some advice. Here goes:

I downgraded from Windows 8 back to Windows 7 for reasons that many can agree with (but we won't get into that here.) I made a full disk backup using the native Windows 8 backup tool. I then reinstalled Windows 7 and went to restore those backups, not realizing that Windows 8 utilizes the new .vhdx format... A format to which Windows 7 says "what the hell is that!?" So now how do I attach, mount, or otherwise just get access to my backed up virtual drives? I've searched a little for  a vdhx to vdh converter, but only found one on Server 2012 (which I do not have access to). Ideas? Thanks,

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 x64

x64

• Members
  • 352 posts
  •  
  • Local time:11:45 AM

Posted 12 June 2013 - 03:01 PM

I have a kind of idea (there may be simpler ways that I've not thought of yet)...

Maybe you could run a temporary copy of Windows 8 in a virtual machine, and use that to extract your data from the vhdx file?.