Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Interesting Boot Up Issue

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 JDJosephsen

JDJosephsen

• Members
  • 6 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:57 AM

Posted 08 June 2013 - 05:14 PM

Hello,

This is my first time posting here, so thank you for the time reading. I'm having a unique issue, or at least it seems unique to me. My computer will start up and show the first second of the boot up process and mention the RAM, and goes black. Then it shows a large screen of numbers/letters for the boot up I'd assume. It's normal to see it, then goes black again. 30 seconds later, the Windows XP loading bar shows up for just a second, then goes black. The "Starting Up Windows" prompt comes up, and I see my Profile there, but then the screen goes black. I can use memory to click on the profile, log in, etc, but the screen is still black but I can hear the windows start up music.

The whole computer is boot up, it's only showing me the first second, literally just a second, of the new screens as they cycle through and never come back until it gests to the next section. I've resate the video card as well as other portions plugged into the mobo, so I'm really at a loss of what to do since those are just simple ideas.

Let me know what you think could be. I'm fairly computer literate so I have some grasps.

Windows XP SP3