Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Brain freeze trying to set up my first home wi-fi. Too many choices

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 brian2009

brian2009

• Members
  • 289 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:37 PM

Posted 06 June 2013 - 05:20 PM

I am new to wi-fi and just bought a new wi-fi printer. I would like to be able to use it with a desktop and a notebook.

So, I'm trying to figure out exactly what to shop for..especially because it will be such a simple setup. There seem to be a mind boggling number of choices of routers with such a wide range of features I seem to be stuck.

This is my situation. I don't want to buy more than I need.

1...No high speed internet for the forseeable future. Due to rural location. Possibly satellite in the future though. No web capable TV's in near future either.

2...Primarily using a wi-fi enabled XP notebook. No N protocol, just b/g.

3...Seldom used desktop using Win 8-64.

4...One wi-fi laser printer.

So far I know I need a network adapter for the desktop.

As far as the router, I really have no idea of what features, inputs, outputs, wan, lan ports..I actually need. It can't be much.