Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

I think I might have ZeroAcess rootkit

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
31 replies to this topic

#1 tangycandy

tangycandy

• Members
  • 19 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:28 AM

Posted 01 June 2013 - 04:12 PM

Hello,

I am new here, and created an account because I need help with my computer. I'm not a computer expert, so please bare with me! :unsure:

I have Windows 7 and use Internet explorer 9. (Feel free to go to the * to skip the back story)

Since February of this year, I have been getting fake virus scan malware on 3 or 4 occasions. The first time, I had no protection on my PC, but afterwards had installed Avira and later on MalwareBytes (the free version). I got another fake antivirus pop up, and by then my mother called Bell and they installed an antivirus/firewall/etc. as part of their internet security suite, removing Avira and MalwareBytes in the process. I believe the program they were using was Kaspersky, though I am not 100% sure.

This new program did not help my situtation since some time later, another fake antivirus under a different name came up. That time, I reinstalled MalwareBytes on Safe Mode and ran TDSSKiller (which I had on my computer since Avira) and found no problem with it and my new antivirus.

For a while, I had no serious problems, just a couple of cookies here and there.