Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

New Motherboard

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ACUFerret

ACUFerret

• Members
  • 3 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:55 AM

Posted 12 April 2006 - 11:30 PM

Hello everybody, i'm new to this forums and i have a question. I'm just starting out trying to learn how to build a good computer. Well, i need a motherboard first of all, and my question is...What are the things i need to look for so that my computer is ideal for a new motherboard...the reason im asking is i have just a regulare PCI motherboard and i would like to get a PCI-E with a x16 so i can get a good video card. So any help is appreciated

Thanks.

Mod Edit: Moved topic to more appropriate forum ~ Animal

Edited by Animal, 13 April 2006 - 01:26 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

m

#2 Enthusiast

Enthusiast

• Members
  • 5,898 posts
  •  

Posted 13 April 2006 - 12:30 PM

The motherboard you will choose will have to support the processor and provide the features you want.

It will also depend on how much money you want to spend, what types of hard drive/s you want to use, how much RAM (and what type) it can support.

The best way to start is by determining what you want your computer to be able to do - gaming? Just regular office function?