Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Showwnd.exe In Startup?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 batya7

batya7

• Members
  • 34 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:39 AM

Posted 12 April 2006 - 11:57 AM

I'm new to BC and have a moderate amount of computer experience, but obviously need more. I want to make my machines run faster and get rid of the clutter.

Computer has been running slow, though only a year old, and I just did a haircut on my startup file and couldn't decide on ShowWnd.exe. The Startup Programs section says "Added by an unidentified backdoor TROJAN!" Whhaaaatttt??? I disabled it but am not sure I did the right thing.

I routinely run Spybot, AdAware SE, Microsoft AntiSpy and Spyware blaster as well as Avast Antivirus. I have Windows XP firewall on. Rarely open email in Outlook; usually view email through Hotmail or webmail browser.

Questions:
First- is this really a trojan or is it a Microsoft program?
Second-Could this have been added through one of the online games that my kids play?
Third-If so, how can I protect against trojans when kids play?
Fourth- I downloaded "Autoruns" by Sysinternals Freeware, and only looked at it briefly. Is this a tool I can use to identify Trojans, etc.?

Thanks.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Herk

Herk

• Members
  • 1,609 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:39 AM

Posted 12 April 2006 - 12:25 PM