Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Linux distros that don't use a lot of resources?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 bitesized1612

bitesized1612

• Members
  • 161 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:02 PM

Posted 17 May 2013 - 11:24 AM

I'm totally new to the Linux environment so I want to get used it in a virtual machine before I commit to dual-booting it alongside Windows 7 on my current laptop. Any recommendations for distros that don't use too many resources but are easy for a beginner to configure and play with? For example, Ubuntu 12.04 was awesome but it ran very slow with the maximum amount of memory I could spare it in VirtualBox (like 1GB).

Thank you for your help!

Windows 7 Professional SP1 (64-bit) // HP EliteBook 8460p = 2.50GHz + 8GB RAM 

AVAST! - Google Chrome & Mozilla Firefox - LibreOffice - Rainmeter

Currently Testing: Linux Mint 17.3 XFCE on a Dell Inspiron 531 (2.1Ghz +3GB RAM)

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 pane-free

pane-free

• Members
  • 117 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:02 AM

Posted 17 May 2013 - 09:32 PM

"Any recommendations for distros that don't use too many resources but are easy for a beginner to configure and play with? . . ."

PCLOS-LXDE ( http://www.pclinuxos.com/?page_id=188 ) is very beginner-friendly;