Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

BSD 0x0000007b after driver update, BSD in safemode.

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Phatfasm

Phatfasm

• Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:30 PM

Posted 10 May 2013 - 09:00 PM

This is my first time posting so I hope I am posting in the right section and the right way.

Ok this one has never happened to me before. Updating and tuning up a clients machine. (I did run combofix and JRT.  and found a few small malware, nothing serious)

I did a few driver updates from windows update I believe one was a keyboard and a Realtek Ethernet driver.

I did a driver update from AMD's website for a Radeon discrete graphics card as well.

Upon rebooting the machine I get a bluescreen around the time the starting Win 7 graphics cycle from dots into a flower as they come together I get the BSD stop 0x0000007b. (pointing to a driver issue)

1. I have tried Safe Mode, just BSDs. 

2. Last known config does not work.

3. Win 7 startup repair tries but says it cannot repair. 

4. Tried system restore but the only system restore is about 1yr old (don't want to go there) 

4. Ran memory test no issues

5. Pulled Discrete graphics and ran only Onboard video no change. 

6. Disabled Ethernet, audio in Bios no change. 

This is a home built system with Asus motherboard m3a78 pro running Windows 7.