Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Monitor Problem

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 nevvy

nevvy

• Members
  • 2 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:56 AM

Posted 10 April 2006 - 10:10 AM

Hi

I am an enthusiastic amateur when it comes to IT issues, but I wonder if someone can help me out with this one.

I have a newish PC and when I switch it on and plug my Monitor into it it goes dead. Not a flicker, not a sausage. The PC is running, the monitor isn't. When I pull the plug, it flickers on with 'no signal' until I re-plug it in and then it goes dead again. It works fine with my old PC.

Is this a graphics card problem, and if so, how do I resolve it without a monitor?

Nev

(Moderator edit: Post moved to more appropriate forum. jgweed)

Edited by jgweed, 10 April 2006 - 11:28 AM.

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 acklan

acklan

Bleepin' cat's meow

• Members
  • 8,529 posts
  •  
  • Local time:02:56 AM

Posted 11 April 2006 - 01:20 AM

It very well could be. Is your adapter intergated or a stand alone card PCI/AGP/PCIe? It it is a plug in card re-seat the card. I have this very problem with the wifes computer. The card had raised up enough to loose connection. Even pressure along the top of the card re-seated it resolved the problem.
"2007 & 2008 Windows Shell/User Award"

#3 Gothmog

Gothmog

• Members
  • 172 posts
  •