Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Cannot access c drive on laptop - suspected virus but nothing found

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
4 replies to this topic

#1 hollywod

hollywod

• Members
  • 22 posts
  •  
  • Local time:09:38 AM

Posted 09 April 2013 - 07:10 AM

Hello - I am a newbie here with limited knowledge re. PC's so would appreciate any help anyone can give me.

I believe my laptop has a virus, as a few days ago when I plugged in the usb lead from my camera to upload the photos, the laptop has stopped recognising that the camera is attached. It has always worked fine but now with the usb plugged in it doesn’t recognise it at all i.e. in my computer the camera is not showing.

Also then I noticed the SD card reader has stopped working in a similar way i.e. it does not recognise it is plugged in.

When windows (Windows 7) opens a grey message box pops up and says “error has occurred”. Google chrome has stopped working.

I also cannot get into the C drive. When I double click it says “access denied”.  As there is a problem with the C drive I can’t save anything to the PC.