Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Streaming Video over network

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 aommaster

aommaster

I !<3 malware

• Malware Response Team
  • 5,294 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:41 PM

Posted 10 March 2013 - 07:57 AM

Hi everyone

This problem has me stumped, and since I'm not really an expert when it comes to network troubleshooting, I thought I might as well ask here.

I have a hard drive shared on my network that I use to share media across all computers connected through a wireless network.  The network uses the following router:

TPLink 300M Wireless Router Model TL-WR941N.

The media being shared includes family photos and videos.

Up until a few days ago, we could stream the videos across the network, ie. someone could double-click the file directly on the network folder and watch the video on their computers. However, after some change (which I am still unaware of, as nothing was installed/uninstalled on my PC), the videos have become choppy. I narrowed it down to a buffering problem, but I am not sure what to do next.

How do I proceed to narrow down the cause of the problem?

Other bits of information that might be useful: