Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

why doesn't paid av programs take care of malware too?

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 kelkay

kelkay

• Members
  • 292 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:50 AM

Posted 28 February 2013 - 04:41 PM

I have a paid subscription to ESET NOD 32.  I don't understand why you have a separate program for malware too?  I do use Malwarebytes, and check with it every few days as well.  If the Chinese hackers, or other type of hacker uses malware on drive by internet browsing, and they also can get into government systems.  If they aren't protected fully, how can I expect to be?  Thoughts would be welcome.  I already pay for the av, and Carbonite.  Thoughts?

Edit: Moved topic from Windows 8 to the more appropriate forum. ~ Animal

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Grinler

Grinler

Lawrence Abrams

• Admin
  • 43,614 posts
  •  
  • Local time:01:50 AM

Posted 28 February 2013 - 04:52 PM

Not all anti-virus companies have every computer infection in their definitions. Therefore its always good to get a second opinion with another security product. As anti-malware products are typically less resource intensive than a full-fledged AV program, it makes sense to utilize one of those along with an av product in order to cover all your bases.

#3 JamesFrance

JamesFrance

• Members
  • 283 posts
  •