Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Making a wireless internet connection on Ubuntu

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 intaki

intaki

• Members
  • 50 posts
  •  
  • Local time:10:52 AM

Posted 27 February 2013 - 08:41 PM

Peace:

Can anyone help an Absolute Beginner make a wireless connection to the internet?  The language in the forums is not working for me. I am trying to make this connection using a Verizon modem/router and a linksys usb adapter.  The connection works for Windows XP which is on the hard drive with Ubuntu 12.10. thanks in advance for any suggestions. aki

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 intaki

intaki
  • Topic Starter

• Members
  • 50 posts
  •  

Posted 05 March 2013 - 07:24 PM

Peace: I'm replying to this topic to add my experiences since my first post.

Was able to connect wirelessly to Damn Small Linux on a Neoware CA21 Internet Appliance.

OS was booted from a flashdrive.

Was unable to connect wirelessly to Ubuntu 12.04lts or Puppy Linux.

These OS were booted from a flashdrive on an Optiplex gx2609(small form desktop)

All OS work fine on  wired connection but the problem comes when trying to use a

Linksys AE1200  Wireless-N USB Adapter. This adapter works fine on Windows XP. Does

anyone know of a site with plain English directions for this task?  Thanks, aki

#3 stiltskin

stiltskin

• Members