Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

AARGGG! Laptop screen won't display nothing

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Tragedy1191

Tragedy1191

• Members
  • 39 posts
  •  
  • Local time:03:53 AM

Posted 09 February 2013 - 06:15 PM

Hi!

Yaah, so I have my friends laptop that he gave to me because it's broken. I have no computer repair experience (only opening up a desktop and looking "under the hood") or diagnosing a computer so hopefully someone can help me fix my first laptop since I really want some experience! 

​So my friends laptop is an HP with an AMD CPU and runs on Windows Vista. That's all I know so far, but the screen will simply not display anything. Well actually it displays the "HP" logo for like 2 seconds when I boot up the laptop. All the lights are on and nothing beeps and the fans are running. I'm hoping it has nothing to do with the screen itself but since the screen displays for like a few seconds it should be something in the laptop right? I hope lol I won't be around the broken laptop for a few days so I hope I can get as much info and diagnosis! 

BC AdBot (Login to Remove)

#2 Chris Cosgrove

Chris Cosgrove

• 6,744 posts
  •  
  • Local time:12:53 PM

Posted 09 February 2013 - 07:49 PM

Well, given that the screen is displaying the HP logo, it probably isn't the screen - that's the good news !