Jump to content


Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.


Strange URL when using Yahoo Mail

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 adot99


  • Members
  • 1 posts
  • Local time:06:44 AM

Posted 22 January 2013 - 10:56 PM

I noticed something strange just now, and am wondering what direction to go with it. I use web-based yahoo mail. I'm using Firefox as my browser. Both are up to date. I've got Webroot Secureanywhere for virus protection, in addition to whatever Windows 7 does for me.

History: On January 8, I replied to a message from the PTA president (not some random email/person) to tell her I'd attend a meeting. We'll call that email "amy@lastname.com" for the purposes of anonymity. It was one quick reply, and I've sent and replied to many emails since that time.

Tonight, I was replying to an email from my milk delivery service, "service@royalcrest.com" and just happened to look up at the URL in my browser window before sending. It looked like this:


(again, I anonymized the email address, but you get the idea...)

I hit "compose" for a new email, and got the same thing.

I opened a new tab with mail.yahoo.com and the URL went back to looking like it should.

I could probably clear cache and restart and everything would be fine. But I don't want to have to check my URL every time I send an email wondering if I've been hijacked somehow.

Any thoughts?


BC AdBot (Login to Remove)


#2 Andrew


    Bleepin' Night Watchman

  • Moderator
  • 8,260 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Right behind you
  • Local time:03:44 AM

Posted 22 January 2013 - 11:26 PM

It's a perfectly legitimate Yahoo! Mail URL and does not indicate anything amiss.

us-mg6.mail.yahoo.com is a valid Yahoo! sub-domain name. Domains are read in reverse, so as long as the last part before the slash ("/") is "yahoo.com" you can be sure that you're interacting with a Yahoo! web address. Newer versions of Firefox will render other parts of the URL in a grey color and the main domain will be in solid black:
Posted Image

Anything after the question mark is called a query string and has no relationship to the web page's address. So, the page you saw was located on a yahoo.com sub-domain (specifically, the us-mg6.mail sub-domain) and the page is called "/neo/launch". The query string specifies .rand=1017244848, action=compose and To=mailto:amy%lastname.com. The last part #mail is called a fragment which is used to specify a specific part of a web page, but doesn't affect the web page's address.

As to why it still had values corresponding to an old reply, I could only speculate. In any case, as I said, there's no indication of anything malicious going on.

Edited by Andrew, 23 January 2013 - 12:12 AM.

#3 Animal


    Bleepin' Animinion

  • Site Admin
  • 35,905 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Where You Least Expect Me To Be
  • Local time:03:44 AM

Posted 22 January 2013 - 11:40 PM

To add to Andrew's excellent reply and information. If you ever want to verify the URL information you can always use this: http://www.iplocationfinder.com/us.mg6.mail.yahoo.com

The Internet is so big, so powerful and pointless that for some people it is a complete substitute for life.
Andrew Brown (1938-1994)

A learning experience is one of those things that say, "You know that thing you just did? Don't do that." Douglas Adams (1952-2001)

"Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination circles the world." Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Follow BleepingComputer on: Facebook | Twitter | Google+

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users