Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

recent java vulnerability - i have trouble with my java

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 seraphin

seraphin

• Members
  • 128 posts
  •  
  • Local time:06:05 AM

Posted 13 January 2013 - 09:02 AM

I am a newbie in cybersecurity and this past Friday it was announced online that Java seems to contain some vulnerability that could be exploited for cyberinvasion. I tried to follow the instruction on pcmag (http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2414191,00.asp)
but found that my Java control panel looks "different" from what was described. I am a little freaked out and so coming here for help.

My laptop specs:
Win 7(version 6.1) 64-bit OS

When I clicked into the Java control panel (ps. mine says Java (32-bit), don't know if this matters), I found the same panel as what pcmag described.
However, when I clicked into the security tab, instead of having a page where it displays "enable Java content in the browser" with security level bar (see pcmag article), in my security tab, I only got the following on my tab:

Certicates
Use certificates to positively identify yourself, certifications, authorities, and publishers.

And a click button "certicates".