Register a free account to unlock additional features at BleepingComputer.com
Welcome to BleepingComputer, a free community where people like yourself come together to discuss and learn how to use their computers. Using the site is easy and fun. As a guest, you can browse and view the various discussions in the forums, but can not create a new topic or reply to an existing one unless you are logged in. Other benefits of registering an account are subscribing to topics and forums, creating a blog, and having no ads shown anywhere on the site.

Click here to Register a free account now! or read our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Photo

Trying to install to a RAID

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 RB_Kandy

RB_Kandy

• Members
  • 140 posts
  •  
  • Local time:05:38 PM

Posted 07 January 2013 - 10:19 PM

I am trying to install Linux Ubuntu 12.10 from a USB flash drive.
Not only am I new to Linux, I am new to RAID's.

I am trying to install Linux to a set of striped drives. The virtual device, as I believe it is called, is named Raptor. It is a pair of Western Digital VelociRaptors (300GB each). They are on a Marvell RAID controller on my Motherboard. Windows is recognizing both drives as one drive, and a benchmark just gave me 297MB/ps read on the raptors, so I know they are installed and functioning properly.

In this picture are my installation options Posted Image
It confuses me because it is showing 2 drives, which should register as 1, as being 4 drives. Or perhaps it is showing drive then partition for each, to make 4 devices.
Then there is the question of where do I install "device for boot loader installation" (whatever that is).

It seems no matter what combination of those drives I select for either of those two installation options, I keep getting the error "no root file system is defined".